## **Summary of Act 371**

Louisiana provides a tax credit for the purchase and installation of solar and wind energy systems purchased and installed on or after January 1, 2008. The system must be installed at either a residence or a residential rental apartment complex to be eligible. The tax credit can be applied to both solar electric systems (PV) and solar thermal systems where the energy is used for space heating, space cooling, or water heating.

The amount of the credit is equal to 50% of the first \$25,000 of the cost of the system, including installation costs. The credit must be fully claimed in the taxable year in which the system is installed and placed in service. Any excess credit which exceeds the taxpayer's liabilities for that year shall be treated as an overpayment, and the Department of Revenue will issue a refund for the remaining amount within one year of receiving the claim.

This tax credit may be combined with any federal tax incentive, but can not be combined with any other state tax incentive.

Louisiana provides a 50% tax credit incentive of up to \$12,000 for solar electric as well as solar water heating systems